NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Outstanding Students Named at NMSU

LAS CRUCES - Outstanding students were named during the 1998 Awards Day ceremony April 24 at New Mexico State University's College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences . Rebecca Bayang of Gallup was named the Outstanding Student in Home Economics and Hayley Melloy of Corrales was named Outstanding Student in Agriculture.

Jerry Schickedanz, the college's interim dean and chief administrative officer announced the award winners as NMSU Interim Vice President John Owens presented them.

Bayang will graduate in May with bachelor's degrees in both economics and hotel, restaurant and tourism management. She will graduate with a 3.7 grade point average.

She was active in the Hospitality and Tourism Student Association, Golden Key National Honor Society and Eta Sigma Delta International Hospitality Honor Society. Bayang also was a founding member of both the "Aggiell Student Alumni Association and the International Food Service Executives Association.

While in school, Bayang worked as a security aide for special events, a clerical aide with the Alumni Association, a tutor in Student Support Services and a banquet server for Chartwells Dining Service at NMSU.

Melloy will graduate in December with bachelor's degrees in both animal science and Spanish. She has a 4.0 grade point average.

While at NMSU, she served as an ambassador for the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences , treasurer and vice president of the Block and Bridle Club, and pledge educator and president of Alpha Zeta. Melloy has been a member of the Golden Key National Honor Society, Phi Kappa Phi and the 1996-97 wool judging team.

Melloy works as a chemistry tutor, and in the lab for James Strickland, assistant professor of animal and range sciences.

Dean's Awards of Excellence were also presented to outstanding undergraduate and graduate students in the college. Undergraduate awardees included: Shawna Clark of Roswell, environmental science and chemistry, Lorne Denetclaw of Waterflow, range science; Derek Dictson of Clovis, agricultural economics/agricultural business; Nathan Fuchs of Capitan, agricultural and extension education; Michael Medina of El Paso, hotel, restaurant and tourism management; Anna Munoz of Carlsbad, wildlife science; Claudia Salopek of Las Cruces, agricultural economics/agricultural business; and Jennifer Thies of Shellsburg, Iowa, family and consumer science education.

Graduate student awardees included: Chadelle Henry of Gallup, agricultural economics and economics; Lee Knox of Lampasas, Texas, range science; Francisco Molinar of Chihuahua City, Mexico, range science; Sheryl Nolen of Clearwater, Fla., family and consumer sciences; Naveen Puppala of India, agronomy; and Eric Votova of Lubbock, Texas, agronomy.