NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Faculty and staff receive awards at convocation

Ten faculty and staff members at New Mexico State University received awards totaling $12,000 at a convocation ceremony to open the 1998-99 academic year. The awards recognize outstanding service and achievement.

El Paso Energy Foundation Faculty Achievement Awards

These $3,000 awards go to faculty members who have made extraordinary efforts to assure that their students get a high-quality education. Nominations are accepted from students, faculty and administrators. This year's recipients are:

Josefina Alvarez of the department of mathematical sciences, who is recognized nationally for her achievements in teaching mathematics appreciation to non-science majors.

R. Wayne Headrick of the department of accounting and business computer systems, who has developed an Internet-based "virtual classroom" for his Introduction to Computerized Information Systems course.

Jeffrey S. Beasley
(left photo) of engineering technology and Dennis Giever of criminal justice, who are sharing the third El Paso Energy Foundation award. Beasley and Giever teamed up to create a new academic minor in security technology.

Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union Achievement Awards

These awards, $500 each, recognize faculty and staff for outstanding service. Each year, two faculty members are chosen on the basis of service to the university and to local, state, national or international agencies. Two staff members are selected on the basis of exceptional service to their clients. This year's Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union Achievement Awards go to:

Tara Gray, a faculty member in the criminal justice department, who has developed and presented numerous workshops aimed at helping faculty members work collaboratively to improve teaching and research.

Peggy Kaczmarek, a faculty member in counseling and educational psychology, who has served on the Ethics Committee of the New Mexico Psychological Association and on the New Mexico Board of Psychologist Examiners.

Doreene Alexander, NMSU's program review coordinator, who was instrumental in the university's preparation for a recent North Central Association accreditation review.

Amelita Hill, administrative assistant to the dean of engineering, who coordinates the NMSU College of Engineering's interactions with industry personnel, legislators, alumni, prospective students and others.

Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Awards

Named for a former faculty member, these awards reward junior tenure-track faculty members for excellence in teaching. Two $500 awards are given annually. This year's recipients are:

Jon Holtzman of the astronomy department, whose enthusiasm and innovative teaching methods are credited with stimulating an interest in science among non-science majors who take his introductory astronomy course.

Luis A. Vazquez of counseling and educational psychology, whose students describe him as an inspirational mentor.