NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Crop Improvement Association Awards Honorary Memberships

LAS CRUCES -- The New Mexico Crop Improvement Association and the 1517 Cotton Association recently awarded honorary lifetime memberships to Morgan Nelson of Roswell and James Ogden of Carlsbad.

Nelson has served as president of the 1517 Cotton Association for 10 years. Before that, he was on its board of directors for 21 years.

Since 1927, the Nelson family farm, located in the Pecos Valley, has been the site of several experimental and demonstration plots for New Mexico State University's College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences . Nelson is active in the National Cotton Council, U.S. Department of Agriculture's Cotton Advisory Committee, Pecos Valley Farmers Association and Council on Agricultural Research, Extension and Teaching.

Nelson served as a state representative from 1948 to 1962. >From 1962 to 1967, he chaired the state Board of Educational Finance.

In 1983, NMSU's College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences gave Nelson the Agriculturist of Distinction award. In 1993, he received an honorary doctorate from NMSU.

Ogden, the second honoree, is a farmer and rancher in Eddy County. The former Marine received a bachelor's degree in agricultural economics from NMSU in 1942.

Ogden served as director of the New Mexico Crop Improvement Association from 1985 to 1992. He also helped organize the Malaga Water Users Association and the Carlsbad Growers Co-op and has assisted NMSU for many years in testing new crops, primarily cotton and alfalfa.

Ogden has received many awards, including the Goodyear Conservationist Award for New Mexico, Outstanding and Pioneer Conservationist awards from the Carlsbad Soil and Water Conservation District, Distinguished Alumnus of NMSU's College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences in 1981 and NMSU Centennial Alumnus in 1988. He and his wife, Sue, received the Carlsbad Foundation's Pioneer Award in 1995.

Nelson and Odgen received plaques from the Cotton Improvement Association, in addition to their honorary lifetime memberships.