NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Winners Announced for 1996 Passive Solar Home Design Competition

LAS CRUCES -- Architectural drafting students from high schools and universities across New Mexico began the arduous task of designing an efficient passive solar home in fall 1995. The hours spent planning, drawing and re-drawing have paid off for 13 students in the 1996 Passive Solar Home Design Competition.

The competition, sponsored by New Mexico State University's Cooperative Extension Service; New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department; and the Albuquerque Technical-Vocational Institute, began with workshops in Albuquerque, Las Cruces and Farmington for students and instructors. The workshops detailed energy efficient and passive solar applications and design, and the guidelines from the Passive Solar Industries Council were explained.

"The purpose of the contest is to encourage drafting students to design homes that are energy efficient and incorporate passive solar heating and cooling," said JoAnn Emmel, NMSU Extension energy specialist.

Students were required to design their homes for the Farmington climate. Twenty-three designs representing nine high schools and three universities were submitted for the competition.

At the high school level, Mandy Martineau, of Grants High School, placed first and Monica Gutierrez, also of Grants High School, placed second. The battle for third place resulted in a tie of two teams: Joshua Turnball and Nicole Steele, of Silver City High School, and Rob Breshears and Rob Fitzpatrick, of Los Alamos High School.

In the university division, Chipper Moore, of NMSU's Dona Ana Branch Community College in Las Cruces, took first place. Wayne Archuleta, of Northern New Mexico Community College in Espanola, place second for his design and Fabian Trujillo, also of Northern New Mexico Community College, placed third. An honorable mention was awarded to the team of Mike Garcia, Brenda Vigil, Chris Mathais and Amanda VanWinkle, of Albuquerque's Technical-Vocational Institute.

All first place winners received a $100 savings bond, a plaque and a solar design package. Other winners received a plaque, a solar design package and a set of drafting tools.