NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State students receive outstanding junior awards

Six New Mexico State University students were recognized as outstanding juniors by the local chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, the academic honor society, at a reception held on Nov. 19.

The New Mexico State University Outstanding Juniors are Alison Pauk, Anjanette Silva, Carl Hinrichs, Tara Pase, Mesha Smith and Benjamin Furlow. (NMSU photo by Javier Peru)

dent was selected from each of the university's six academic colleges, based upon the highest cumulative grade point average and most graded credits. Each student received a framed certificate and a $100 award. They will be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi at its spring initiation.

Alison Brean Pauk was chosen from the College of Agriculture and Home Economics. Pauk is majoring in hotel, restaurant and tourism management, with minors in human resource management and government. She is originally from El Paso, where she graduated from Franklin High School in 1998.

Mesha Lael Smith was chosen from the College of Arts and Sciences. A print and photojournalism major, Smith graduated from Cloudcroft High School in 1998.

Benjamin Lefever Furlow was chosen from the College of Business Administration and Economics. Furlow, a management major, graduated from Clayton High School in 1998. Anjanette Teresa Silva was chosen from the College of Education. Silva is majoring in communications disorders and is from Tularosa. She graduated from Ruidoso High School in 1992.

Tara Leigh Pase Arreola was chosen from the College of Engineering. Arreola, a 1998 graduate of Las Cruces High School, is majoring in civil engineering.

Carl Roy Hinrichs was chosen from the College of Health and Social Services. Hinrichs is a social work major who graduated from Alamogordo High School in 1998.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 and inducts more than 30,000 members each year. It is comprised of 282 chapters in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines. They also award more than $500,000 in scholarships annually and publish two quarterly publications.