NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State University faculty and staff receive awards for achievement

Nine New Mexico State University faculty and staff members received achievement and service awards totaling $10,000 at an Aug. 20 ceremony to open the 2001-2002 academic year.

Faculty and staff members who received awards at an opening-day convocation are, front row, left to right: Terry Cook, Nancy Baptiste, Eve Adams and Lupe Fino. Back row, left to right: Rolston St. Hilaire, James Shannon, Bobbi Raub and Craig Loomis. Not

New Mexico State University Alumni Teaching Award

James B. Shannon, an associate professor of business computer systems, received the university's $3,000 Alumni Teaching Award, which goes to a faculty member who has shown unusually significant achievement in teaching. He was recognized for assuring that his students have access to the most current technologies in the rapidly changing field of business computer systems.

Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union Achievement Awards

The Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union funds six awards, at $1,000 each, to recognize faculty and staff members for outstanding service and for outstanding contributions in the areas of research and creative activity.

Daniel J. Howard, a biology professor with an international reputation in the field of evolutionary biology, received the faculty research achievement award. His research addresses questions related to how species develop and how species boundaries are maintained in nature.

Craig Loomis, systems and network manager at Apache Point Observatory, which is operated by New Mexico State for the multi-institution Astrophysical Research Consortium, received the staff achievement in research award. He was praised by a Princeton astronomer as "an absolutely outstanding systems administrator, probably the best I have encountered in a 30-year career at Caltech, Harvard and Princeton."

Nancy Baptiste, college assistant professor in the department of curriculum and instruction, is the main campus recipient of the faculty achievement award. She recently created an evening child-care program for faculty and students, directs the university's Dove Laboratory School and directs a number of grant programs aimed at improving early childhood education.

Barbara (Bobbi) Raub, professor in the business office technology program at the Dona Ana Branch Community College, received the branch campus faculty achievement award. She has an extensive record of university and community service, including two terms as chair of the university's Faculty Senate.

Terry Cook, associate director of the university's Center for Learning Assistance, received the professional staff achievement award. She has helped hundreds of students develop the academic skills they need for success and she was instrumental in establishing the university's "Connections" customer-service training program.

Lupe Fino, secretary in the department of psychology, received the classified staff achievement award. She was described as "the one essential person" in the department and "the one with the information and the wisdom to get things done."

Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Awards

Eve Adams, assistant professor of counseling and educational psychology, and Rolston St. Hilaire, assistant professor of agronomy and horticulture, received Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Awards of $500 each.

The awards, named for a former department head of accounting who was known for her support of new faculty, recognized junior faculty members for excellence in teaching.

Adams receives exceptionally high teaching evaluations and her research is published regularly in professional journals. She is co-director of the Counseling and Educational Psychology Training Center.

St. Hilaire has developed five different courses in horticulture science since joining the New Mexico State faculty in 1998. He also is active in efforts to adapt new methods and technologies to teaching.

Photo is available at http://kiernan.nmsu.edu/newsphoto/convocation.jpg.
For a print, call (505) 646-3221.