NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Eleven receive awards for teaching excellence

Eleven New Mexico State University faculty members received 1999 Donald C. Roush Awards for Teaching Excellence at a Jan. 7 convocation to open the spring semester.

The annual Roush awards, named for a former NMSU executive vice president, are based on information gathered from students, department heads, deans and branch campus directors. Each winner receives a sterling silver medallion. This year's award winners are:

Champa Sengupta-Gopalan, agronomy and horticulture, College of Agriculture and Home Economics.

Elba E. Serrano, biology, College of Arts and Sciences.

Wenda Ruth Trevathan, sociology and anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences.

Nina H. Compton, finance, College of Business Administration and Economics.

Robert L. Rhodes, special education/communication disorders, College of Education.

Jeffrey S. Beasley, engineering technology, College of Engineering.

Wendell W. Oderkirk, nursing, College of Health and Social Services.

James D. Gallagher, communications, NMSU-Alamogordo.

Shelley Burkhalter, English, NMSU-Carlsbad.

Susan Andrus Wood, developmental studies, Dona Ana Branch Community College.

Chris Stoughtenger, electronics technology, NMSU-Grants.