NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU recognizes faculty for excellence in online education

New Mexico State University’s Instructional Innovation and Quality hosted its annual Quality in Distance Education Awards event Oct. 10. The gathering marked five years of recognizing NMSU’s faculty and administrators of the Las Cruces campus for their work towards improving online education.

Man and woman holding an award plaque.
New Mexico State University Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Administration, Henrietta Pichon (left) poses with Deputy Provost Greg Fant (right) after receiving the 2018 “Leading the Way” award at the annual Quality in Distance Education Awards event. (Courtesy photo)

Special recognition was given to all members of the Course Development Institute, the Quality Matters Peer and Master Reviewers, as well as the OCIP advisory board.

Each year IIQ recognizes one faculty member with the “Leading the Way” award, which is a recognition for advocacy, collaboration and online service. The recipient must be an individual who “walks the talk in terms of leadership, service, learning and professional growth in the areas of educational technology, online teaching and learning, as well as policy.” This year’s recipient was Henrietta Pichon, Educational Leadership and Administration associate professor.

In addition to recognizing faculty, IIQ paid tribute to two important individuals. The Steve Leask Memorial Technology Fund was established in 2017 in memory of Steve Leask, who worked in Educational Administration at NMSU for nearly 20 years. The recipients for the second annual award were announced.

IIQ also honored Roberta (Bobbie) Derlin who passed away earlier this year. She played an instrumental role in IIQ, was an associate provost at NMSU and also served on the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity for four years.