NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU Alumni Association awards up for grabs

Every year, the New Mexico State University Alumni Association recognizes some of the institution’s most successful and dedicated graduates and friends with the Distinguished Alumni Awards and the James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service. Today, nominations for the 2018 awards are now open.

Seven people standing in a row with star awards in their hands.
The 2017 James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service recipient, (left) Frank Seidel '81, stands next to the six Distinguished Alumni Award recipients, (second from left) Esteban Herrera, College of Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciences '74; Irene Oliver-Lewis, College of Arts and Sciences '74, '75 and '78; Del Ezparza, College of Business '91; MaryLou Davis, College of Education '69; Eloy Torrez, College of Engineering '70; and Sue Gerber, College of Health and Social Services '84 (NMSU Photo)

The Distinguished Alumni Award started in 1956 to recognize living NMSU alumni who have achieved national or international distinction through their accomplishments and leadership that show specific, meritorious service to the quality and advancement of NMSU. One alumnus/a from each of the six academic colleges at NMSU will be recognized during Homecoming 2018 festivities.

Started in 1966, the James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service specifically recognizes someone who has shown progressive support, dedicated involvement and impactful civic and humanitarian service to NMSU and within their communities.

“There’s quite a bit of success happening on campus with our students now, but the Distinguished Alumni Awards are an opportunity to reconnect and recognize those graduates who took their talents and skills they learned at NMSU to the careers and communities that awaited them,” said Leslie Cervantes, associate vice president for alumni relations. “We also want to say ‘thank you’ in a special way to our incredibly dedicated alumni or friends of the university, and that’s through the James F. Cole Memorial Award.”

Nominations are due Friday, April 6 and can be completed by filling out a nomination form and emailing it to alumni@nmsu.edu or mailing it to NMSU Alumni Association, P.O. Box 3590, Las Cruces, NM 88003. The forms are available online at https://advancing.nmsu.edu/alumni/awards-and-programs/alumni-association-awards/alumni-association-awards.