NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Lincoln County 4-H Youth named reserve national horse judging champions

CARRIZOZO – The Lincoln County 4-H Horse Judging Team won the title of reserve national horse judging champions at the 95th annual Western National Roundup held Jan. 8-11 in Denver.

Four young women show their awards.
The Lincoln County Cooperative Extension Service 4-H Horse Judging Team recently competed at the national contest in Denver. Team members include, from left, Bryanna Parker, Gracie Hooten, Shayna Gallacher and Kristie Gallacher.

Team members are Shayna Gallacher, Kristie Gallacher, Bryanna Parker and Gracie Hooten.
More than 900 4-H and FFA youth from more than 30 states along with Alberta, Canada, attended the event. The team qualified for the event by winning the horse judging contest at the State 4-H Conference in Las Cruces in July 2014.

“The girls worked really hard putting in many hours of time and practice,” said Audra Lyon, Lincoln County Ag/4-H Agent. “A big thank you goes out to coaches Kayce Patterson, Joe Chavez and Todd Proctor for putting in their many hours of hard work as well.”

The team also placed second in the reasons and performance categories and fifth in the halter category. Individual awards received by team members went to Shayna Gallacher for winning second high individual overall, first in performance, second in reasons, and sixth in halter; Parker placed eighth in reasons; and Hooten placed eighth in performance.

“After a grueling nine-hour drive to Denver on Thursday, the girls went over last minute information about the contest. An early 7 a.m. bus departure to the contest the next morning came pretty quick, but the girls were focused and the end results showed it,” Lyon said.

The team conducted fundraisers and received donations to help pay for travel expenses. They would like to thank Omer and Linda Gibson, Mark and Stacy Hendricks, Mikel Bullock, Lincoln County Fairboard, Farm Credit of New Mexico, Lincoln County 4-H Council, New Mexico 4-H Youth Development Foundation, Constructors, Inc., Eddy Davis/Bogle Ranch, Stirling Spencer and Davidson Ranch for their contributions.