NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU’s College of ACES honors faculty, staff, community members for contributions to agriculture

Faculty and staff with New Mexico State University’s College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences, as well as some community members, were honored Friday, April 11, for making outstanding contributions to agriculture throughout the state.

Dean Lowell Catlett opening at 2014 ACES Awards Day.
New Mexico State University College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences Dean Lowell Catlett opens ACES Awards Day, April 11, 2014. (NMSU photo by Jocelyn Apodaca)

Julian J. Garcia, regional business Director for Zoetis, received the New Mexico Outstanding Leadership Award. Garcia is responsible for more than 100 territory business managers providing innovative animal health solutions to beef, diary, equine and veterinary customers.

Jose “Buddy” Viramontes, owner of Ag Market Resources, received the Leyendecker Agriculturist of Distinction award.

Gerald “Jerry” Hawkes, Extension department head and Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources associate professor, was awarded the Fabian Garcia Founders’ Award of Excellence.

The Charles Tharp Farms Distinguished Service Award went to Leonard Lauriault, forage agronomist at NMSU’s Agricultural Science Center at Tucumcari.

Brian Hurd, professor of Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Business, received the Mobley Family Endowed Distinguished Research Award.

LaWanda Meeks, records specialist for Cooperative Extension’s Eastern District Office, received the Malone Farms Endowed Distinguished Staff Award.

Gaylene Fasenko, assistant professor of Animal and Range Sciences, was given the Kringle the Cat Distinguished Teaching Award.

Distinguished Staff Award On-Campus went to Kathy Bustos, administrative assistant, intermediate, for Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources.

Distinguished Professional Staff On-Campus award was presented to CC Chamberlin, program analyst for Media Productions.

Distinguished Professional Staff Off-Campus award was given to Richard Dunlap, senior research assistant at the Corona Range and Livestock Research Center.

Distinguished Extension Award was presented to Edmund Gomez, assistant department head and project director for the Rural Agricultural Improvement and Public Affairs Project and Extension Economics.

Blair Clavel, program director of the Harding County Extension Office, received the Distinguished County Agent Award.

Ryan Goss, assistant professor in Plant and Environmental Sciences, received the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Teaching Award.

Outstanding 4-H Agent award went to Extension Agent Jacqueline Baca of the Santa Fe County Extension Office.

The Team Award went to the Wastewater Land Application Team, including William Lindemann, John Mexal, Geno Picchioni, Ted Sammis, Manoj Shukla and April Ulery.

Family and Consumer Science Industry Leadership Award was presented to fashion student, Jamie McClure. McClure’s excellence in the workplace helped her attain this award.

Connie Hines, owner of Connie Hines Interior Design, was awarded the HRTM Industry Leadership Award. She also held a position on the building committee for the NMSU Center for the Arts.

Mark Daugherty, a high school teacher for the Tatum Municipal District, was presented with the Outstanding Agriculture Teacher.

Extension Advocate award went to Kelli Goodpasture from Southwest Dairy Farms.

County Faculty Award was presented to John Allen, program director at the Hidalgo County Extension Office.

Distinguished Service Award was given to Jason Turner, associate professor and Extension horse specialist in Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources.

The Exemplary Teaching Professorship was awarded to April Ulery, professor in Plant and Environmental Sciences.